top of page

Addendum to Feeding Orphaned Kittens Based on Actual Practice

Adjustments - be prepared for them.


Having gone through, posted and researched the process of Feeding Orphaned Kittens I must say that every litter is as Different as a Personality! These kittens don't fit any pattern that I've encountered in my 20+ years of bottle feeding. I feel as if I'm a newbie!


First, they drink much more than the recommended amounts for their age group at any feeding.


Second, the require a lot of warmth. Just because they can snuggle together doesn't mean they can keep each other warm.


This is a major issue. How do you know when it's too hot? According to my vet their normal body temperature is 102. What you feel is too hot may be just right for them BUT you must monitor them often to be sure they don't overheat. If you think the bed is too hot take the kitten's temperature.


I used a heating lamp from a reptile tank over the top of their 23" x 23" cage which is covered to retain the heat but to also allow for breathing and circulation of air and the vet took their temps: 96! not good.


I don't like heating pads but with this batch I have had to use one. Like any heating element they have to be checked often. Be sure to wrap the heating pad in a towel to prevent direct contact and for absorbing the urine that kittens will make between meals.


The Kittens also need to be stimulated not just at mealtime but often to help them expel urine. They may want a small snack at that time too.


This litter has a nasty habit of suckling on each other even after a second helping on the bottle. I give up, let them suckle, the vet says it's not a big deal unless the genitalia becomes swollen.


These are my updates and addendum to Feeding Orphaned Kittens based on Actual Practice. Hope your experience is smoother!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page