top of page

Three Days of Death and The Life Affirming Lesson For Rescuers

The struggle and pain experienced when doing Trap*Neuter*Return (TNR) and Rescue are helping you to Learn and Evolve. It’s a painful growth process and I wanted to share how the “obvious” lesson isn’t always so clear and how finally seeing it can give you Understanding and Relief. I know that I’m not the Wise and Centered Guru that people look for but, I know that you can learn from my experience. Your takeaway may be slightly different but maybe I can help you shift a little so that you can Self Watch and create a more Conscious life for yourself. Getting out of your Comfort Zone is very important.


This is how I use Self Talk in my growth process. I hope that you gain benefit from these materials. I see why I don’t walk away from Rescue and TNR: Even the people that I meet and interact with contribute to my growth whether they are kind, mean or on a very low level of awareness. This growth is my Personal Journey and it gives my life meaning. How about you? Do you react and get through your days seemingly without purpose or are you ready to respond appropriately? Empowering yourself is better than belittling your Self. Once you empower yourself you can empower others and that is how our world is going to get better. Belittling yourself dims your light and you can’t help to dispel any darkness.


Three Days of Death

Day one: I took in a Litter of kittens from a garage that included one dead kitten. There is always sadness when you find an innocent life cut short. There is a feeling of helplessness. You wish you could have helped. This is what went through my mind. The inevitable question: Why does this have to happen at all?



Day two: Mother Cat in labor on a muddy puddle surrounded by snow. She is very sick. The baby stopped crying. The baby is attached to its mother. Anger swells up. There are no resources to help this cat. She won’t make it to the Emergency Room but I can’t even do that. I manage to get the baby and revive it. Mother Cat runs off. This is a grim feeling and I tire of encountering this situation over and over again.


If there was something I knew could I create a happy ending out of this situation? I rant and rage. I don’t understand why I am experiencing this awfulness. I feel powerless. I don’t know what the lesson is that I’m supposed to learn.


Day Three: The kitten died and I was in love with him. Why did he have to die twice? Is the Universe perverse?



My friends provided funds to take the bodies to be cremated. I’m grateful, I don’t believe in throwing them in the garbage. They were vibrant lives cut short. They deserve dignity and being able to give them at least that was very Healing for me.


And I finally hear myself and I remember that Nothing is Good or Bad – it just is and I give it a chosen meaning based on my expectations; my perspective; my beliefs and my attitudes. I finally get it and a big weight is lifted from me. I also get to see my “Dark” side and understand parts of myself that I don’t acknowledge without Self Talk.


My involvement in this situation generated pain and I remembered the following Poet’s work. I read this in High School and I finally understand it.


On Pain Kahlil Gibran

Your pain is the breaking of the shell that encloses your understanding. Even as the stone of the fruit must break, that its heart may stand in the sun, so must you know pain. And could you keep your heart in wonder at the daily miracles of your life, your pain would not seem less wondrous than your joy; And you would accept the seasons of your heart, even as you have always accepted the seasons that pass over your fields. And you would watch with serenity through the winters of your grief. Much of your pain is self-chosen. It is the bitter potion by which the physician within you heals your sick self. Therefore trust the physician, and drink his remedy in silence and tranquility: For his hand, though heavy and hard, is guided by the tender hand of the Unseen, And the cup he brings, though it burn your lips, has been fashioned of the clay which the Potter has moistened with His own sacred tears.


The Video in the following link is also very helpful and will explain Self Talk and how to use it to enhance your life: https://youtu.be/Zm5J_Y-F1xU . If you’re ready to do some self-empowering work watch this video and then go forth and prosper.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page